The Dillinger Escape Plan announce new album “Dissociation” and hiatus. RIP DEP?


THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN is readying what is to potentially be the final full-length album before an ‘extended hiatus.’
“DISSOCIATION”, out October 14, 2016, is a product of the recent collaboration of the band’s Party Smasher Inc. label with Cooking Vinyl and promises to be their most adventurous to date.

The group – vocalist Greg Puciato, guitarist (and original member) Ben Weinman, bassist Liam Wilson, drummer Billy Rymer and guitarist Kevin Antreassian – will be playing a limited run of intimate shows throughout North America in August, bringing their intense live set to Reading and Leeds in the UK, then coming back to the US for a full-on live assault.

The band tracked drums at Vudu Studio on Long Island. Guitars and Bass were recorded at Party Smasher Studio in NJ with producer, Steve Evetts. Half the vocals were recorded at Steve’s studio in Long Beach and the others with Producer JoshWilbur at his home studio. Then additional guitars and sound design was done in Weinman’s own personal studio. The album was then mixed by Kurt Ballou at Godcity in Boston, MA.

The premiere single, “Limerent Death” Weinman says is one of my all-time favorite Dillinger Escape Plan songs. I feel that this song is one of the rare instances where all the members are feeling, and conveying, the same energy from start to end. A sharp focused dagger plowing its way through thick heavy walls.”

THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN has been a juggernaut since their inception in 1997 making an indelible mark on the world of rock The band has put out five studio albums, rocked Late Night TV and have been winners of The Golden Gods’ Best Underground Band, Kerrang!’s Inspiration Award and Spirit of independence award as well as a VH1 Most Influential Guitarist award. 

Their sound is unlike that of any other band, but that has been the inspiration for many that have followed. The New York Times described it best when they said, “If you really want to know these songs — metal through the jazz-rock filter of Allan Holdsworth and Mahavishnu Orchestra — you have to listen repeatedly and concentrate. Increasingly it’s a composer’s music…a haywire, acrobatic combustion that occurs in almost every song.”  


1. “Limerent Death” 2. “Symptom Of Terminal Illness” 3. “Wanting Not So Much As To” 4. “Fugue” 5. “Low Feels Blvd” 5. “Surrogate” 6. “Honeysuckle” 7. “Manufacturing Discontent” 8. “Apologies Not Included” 9. “Nothing To Forget” 10. “Dissociation”

Buy link:

In an interview with Noisey-VICE, guitarist Ben Weinman discusses hiatus for the project: “I think it’s one of those things where we didn’t want to get to the point where we’re stopping because we have to or because we’re old or people are kind of over it. Who knows if that would ever happen, but I feel way more empowered in making hard decisions. I don’t like the idea of slowing down or doing it less often, I like to just dive in full-force and take things to the extreme because that’s what this band has always been about.”

Comment with Facebook!

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Notify of