Police State – Mind Collapse (USA, 2015)


You can’t really beat an opening statement of “Police State are a 4 piece Grind/Crust band from York, PA here to shit on American politics”

And that tells you what to expect here are as well: Lots of short blasts of energy filled hate and a big fuck off attitude. And for the most part, this formula works very well. I’m a big fan of short songs, but now and then some of the sub-one minute tracks don’t really go anywhere and I prefer the “epic” 1.57 of Pure Filth, which just hangs around long enough to expand upon the shortcomings (pun intended) of the shorter tracks, of which there are 6 on this release.

As we hit the final stretch, Police State buck the trend and gradually increase the running times until we hit the hit heady heights of 5 minutes for the finale of Shallow Grave.

In terms of punk fuelled political vitriol, this isn’t up there with the likes of the Subhumans and their epic From The Cradle To The Grave. But in a fun blast through 10 tracks in under 20 minutes kind of way, this has a lot of potential. I just feel the song writing needs a few tweaks here and there. Everything else, the band have got spot-on.



  1. Intro
  2. Consumed
  3. Oath
  4. Karma
  5. Pure Filth
  6. Blinding
  7. Propaganda
  8. Cease to Exist
  9. Resolution
  10. Shallow Grave

Label: Grimoire Records
Websites: Label | Band
Release Date: November 6th 2015
Reviewed by Steve

Comment with Facebook!

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Notify of