Pokerface – Divide and Rule (Russia, 2015)


Let’s get the only flaw out into the open straight away. The band name.

Back in the 80s, Pokerface would have been a great Thrash name, but now, all I can think of is Lady “fucking” Gaga. So a bit of a blemish to begin with, but from now on, everything is as positive as it gets.

Pokerface are a Thrash band from Moscow and they have a female Death Metal growler (Alena “Delirium Tremens” Yashkina) fronting the band. And they’ve done very well in recent years, with major support slots with the likes of Sepultura, Sodom, Overkill, Vader and Children of Bodom.

 And seeing how the big boys do things close up and personal has obviously rubbed off on Pokerface. Divide and Rule is a very impressive debut and it goes for the jugular straight away with the razor sharp opener, All Is Lie, and it just doesn’t let up from that point.

But that’s not to say that this is just a blastfest. All the songs are well structured with slower moments to allow everything to breathe and that way you get to appreciate the faster bits just that little bit more. And that’s a very important part of good songwriting that many bands forget to do these days. And you can tell that these songs have been tested in the live environment as you can imagine songs like The Chessboard Killer racking up the tension before letting rip and the crowd then go apeshit to the faster parts of the song.

This is obviously very intelligently put together. But the wheel hasn’t been re-invented here; it’s just a very good album of headbanging, fist pumping Metal. So what more could you want?



  1. All Is Lie
  2. Kingdom Of Hate
  3. The Chessboard Killer (Extended)
  4. Existence
  5. Into The Inferno
  6. Human Control
  7. Age Of Terrorism
  8. Killed By Me
  9. Shut Up!
  10. Divide And Rule

Label: Irond/Molot
Websites: Facebook | Official Website
Release Date: September 15th 2015
Reviewed by Steve

Comment with Facebook!

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Notify of