Mark Riddick’s FETID ZOMBIE Premieres New Song

Mark Riddick is a legend in the underground. His works are in existence since the early ’90s and so is his passion for occult-tinged old school death metal. After putting out a handful of releases and numerous splits, he has unleashed his masterpiece upon us. The album ‘Epicedia’ features a unique collaboration with some of the most esteemed musicians from around the world. It is epic in every sense of the term. Reminiscent of bands like The Chasm, Nocturnus, Grave, Deceased, Master and Sepultura, it’s a mix of all styles, a blend of outstanding elements from each one of them but presented in a fetid sound bearing his trademark vocals. Each song is close to 10 minutes long – four monoliths in all – each showcasing a progressive elaboration of death metal that is raw and decaying at its core. All put together, Fetid Zombie concoct festering death metal with an otherworldly aura, replete with fantastic solos and memorable song structures, one that is refreshing and atmospheric in its own special way.

Fetid Zombie has streamed one of the best songs off the album via Metal Injection which has called it “old school death metal at its finest”.
Cvlt Nation wrote an article about Fetid Zombie with the words “celebrate this orgy of audio destruction”.
Prior to this there have been streams at Decibel Magazine, Metal Sucks, and No Clean Singing.

– “gnarly, epic, forward-thinking-yet-utterly-feral masterpiece” – Decibel Magazine (US) 

– “underground and repugnant, but also big and boundless.” – Metal Sucks (US) 

– “possibly the quintessential album of 2016 by fucking miles.” – Head-Banger Reviews (US) 

– “This is awesome” – The Killchain (UK) 

– “just majestic” – Metal Banger (US) 

– “quite excellent” – Third Eye Cinema (US) 

– “worth all the praise it has received” – Eternal Terror (Germany) 

– “Riddick succeeds” – Powermetal (Germany) 9/10 

– “endlessly surprising” – Pavillon 666 (France) 

– “infectious” – Zware Metalen (Netherlands) 

– “reminds me of everything from Morgoth to Death” – Merchants of Air (Belgium)

– “a beautiful LP” – Glacially Musical (UK)

– “an album that I recommend” – Reviews to my Blood (Spain) 

– “Very good!” – Deadly Storm (Czech Republic) 

– “dark but captivating with epic moments” – Necromance Magazine (Spain) 8.5/10! 


‘The Festival’ Track list: 
1. Lowered Beneath 08:32
2. Devour the Virtuous 08:00
3. Devour the Innocent 08:33
4. If the Dead Could Speak 10:22

Line up: 
Mark Riddick – Voice, Guitar, Bass, Drum Programming, Synth

Guest contributions
Ralf Hauber (Revel In Flesh) – Vocals (III, IV)
Yusef Wallace (Rude) – Vocals (I)
Jamie Whyte (Beyond Mortal Dreams) – Guitar Solos (III, IV)
Josh Fleischer (Svierg) – Acoustic + Rhythm Guitar (I, III, IV)
Nunsslutgoat (Goat Holocaust) – Vocals (III)
Toby Knapp (Where Evil Follows) – Guitar Solos (I, II, III, IV)
Nick Walker (Bane of Bedlam) – Bass Solo (III)
Dawn Desiree (Rain Fell Within) – Vocals (I, II, III, IV)

Fetid Zombie Bandcamp
Fetid Zombie Facebook
Mark Riddick Facebook
Transcending Obscurity Official Site
Transcending Obscurity Facebook

Comment with Facebook!

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Notify of